News · OSSTF/FEESO Welcomes Appointment of New Ministers



OSSTF/FEESO Welcomes Appointment of New Ministers

January 17, 2018 — The Ontario Secondary School Teachers’ Federation (OSSTF/FEESO), representing secondary school teachers as well as support staff in Ontario’s elementary, secondary and post-secondary systems, welcomes today’s appointment of Indira Naidoo-Harris as Minister of Education and Mitzie Hunter as Minister of Advanced Education and Skills Development.

“On behalf of our 60,000 members, I want to congratulate Ms. Naidoo-Harris and Ms. Hunter, and welcome them to their new portfolios,” said OSSTF/FEESO President Harvey Bischof.

“We thank Ms. Hunter for her service as Education Minister, and we look forward to continuing to work with her as she embarks on her new role. We hope she will be open to our ongoing concerns about the need for increased, targeted and transparent funding for Ontario’s universities,” said Bischof.

“We also look forward to building and maintaining a positive and cooperative relationship with Ms. Naidoo-Harris,” continued Bischof. “We anticipate that she will honour the Ministry’s current commitments and continue to work with us to address violence in education workplaces, and we hope she will also turn her attention to our very serious concerns about the urgent need for reforms to the School Boards Collective Bargaining Act.”

Share This Page