How We Are Organized

Provincial Executive · Harvey Bischof, President (Chief Executive Officer)

Update

 
About Us

Harvey Bischof, President (Chief Executive Officer)

Harvey Bischof
Harvey Bischof
President (Chief Executive Officer)

Harvey Bischof is an English teacher from Durham and is the President of the Ontario Secondary School Teachers’ Federation (OSSTF/FEESO). 

Harvey grew up in Pickering, Ontario where he attended elementary and high school.  He earned a Bachelor of Arts (Honours) degree from Trent University, and a Masters of Arts and Bachelor of Education degree at Queen’s University.  He returned to the Durham area to teach English at Henry Street High School and then at Exeter High School.

Harvey served as the local OSSTF/FEESO District 13 Durham Chief Negotiator and President before his election to the Provincial Executive in 2007 as an Executive Officer.  In 2011, Harvey was elected as a provincial Vice-President, and then as President in 2017.

Harvey believes strongly in evidence-informed practice in education and evidence-based decision making in public policy.  He is a vocal advocate for a strong publicly funded education system with inclusive, full-service schools that offer robust and accessible supports for all students.  An accomplished labour negotiator, he is also a coalition builder who has forged strong alliances within the labour movement at the provincial, national and international levels. Harvey is often sought out by the media as an articulate and authoritative voice on education issues in Ontario.

Related Links

Notre structure

Exécutif provincial · Harvey Bischof, président (premier dirigeant)

Update

 
À propos de nous

Harvey Bischof, président (premier dirigeant)

Harvey Bischof
Harvey Bischof
président (premier dirigeant)

Harvey Bischof est enseignant d’anglais de Durham et président de la Fédération des enseignantes-enseignants des écoles secondaires de l’Ontario (OSSTF/FEESO). 

Harvey a grandi à Pickering (Ontario) où il a fait ses études élémentaires et secondaires. Il a obtenu un baccalauréat ès arts (spécialisé) de l’Université Trent ainsi qu’une maîtrise ès arts et un baccalauréat en éducation de l’Université Queen’s. Il est retourné dans la région de Durham pour enseigner l’anglais à l’école secondaire Henry Street et ensuite à l’école secondaire Exeter.

Harvey a été négociateur en chef et président du District 13, Durham, d’OSSTF/FEESO avant son élection à l’Exécutif provincial en 2007 au poste d’agent de l’Exécutif. En 2011, Harvey a été élu vice-président provincial puis président en 2017.

Harvey croit fermement aux pratiques éclairées par des données probantes en éducation et à la prise de décision basée sur les faits dans les politiques publiques. Il est un ardent défenseur d’un système d’éducation financé à même les deniers publics solide avec des écoles inclusives et des services complets qui offrent du soutien solide et accessible à tous les élèves. Habile négociateur syndical, il est aussi un promoteur de coalitions qui a forgé de forts partenariats au sein du mouvement syndical, à l’échelle provinciale, nationale et internationale. Très populaire auprès des médias, Harvey est une voix éloquente qui fait autorité en matière d’éducation en Ontario.

Liens connexes