News · OSSTF/FEESO Student Achievement Awards 2017



OSSTF/FEESO Student Achievement Awards 2017

TORONTO, ON – Mar 11 2017 — Today at the annual meeting of the Ontario Secondary School Teachers’ Federation (OSSTF/FEESO), students from across Ontario were honoured for their outstanding abilities and creativity as provincial winners of the Student Achievement Awards in honour of Marion Drysdale.

For thirty years, the Student Achievement Awards have been one of Ontario’s most prestigious awards, celebrating the artistic and academic creations of students in public high schools. Any Ontario public high school student may enter work into one of eight categories, and submissions are judged on school, district, regional and provincial levels. The eight provincial winners are brought to Toronto to receive their awards at the OSSTF/FEESO annual general meeting, and they are featured in a twenty-minute video. Each provincial winner also receives a cash award of $1,000.

This year’s theme, Mirror Mirror... inspired students to explore the idea of reflection through prose, poetry, painting and video.

OSSTF/FEESO President Paul Elliott presented awards to the following:

Prose and Poetry Division
Category A1—Intermediate, 9-10 Academic
Nader Elshawish, Westminster Secondary School, District 11, Thames Valley

Category A2—Intermediate, 9-10 Applied/Essential
Nick Boudreau, North Hastings High School, District 29, Hastings-Prince Edward

Category A3—Senior, 11-12 University
Grace Sabutsch, Belle River District High School, District 9, Greater Essex

Category A4—Senior, 11-12 College/ Workplace
Danni Maxwell, Bayridge Secondary School, District 27, Limestone

Category A5—French
Isabelle Dufour, Vankleek Hill Collegiate Institute, District 26, Upper Canada

Creative Division
Category B1—Visual Arts, Intermediate, 9-10
Allaura Langford, Peterborough Alternative Continuing Education at PCVS, District 14, Kawartha Pine Ridge

Category B2—Visual Arts, Senior, 11-12
Myshalla Grant, Geraldton Composite High School, District 6B Superior North

Category B3—Digital Arts, 9-12
Kirsten Rowe and Colby Koopman, Ajax High School, District 13, Durham


OSSTF/FEESO, founded in 1919, has 60,000 members across Ontario. They include public high school teachers, occasional teachers, educational assistants, continuing education teachers and instructors, early childhood educators, psychologists, secretaries, speech-language pathologists, social workers, plant support personnel, university support staff, and many others in education.

Related Links

Contact Information

Tracey Marshall

Executive Assistant

Ontario Secondary School Teachers’ Federation

Phone: 416-751-8300

Share This Page