Prix, bourses d’études et bourses

Prix de reconnaissance à l’intention des membres d’OSSTF/FEESO · Prix Bob Brooks

Update

 
Services

Prix Bob Brooks

Bob Brooks, en l’honneur de qui le prix pour l’excellence des relations entre la collectivité et l’école a été nommé, croyait très fortement dans l’excellence des écoles publiques. Il croyait également au partage de ces valeurs avec les autres. Entre 1961, à son arrivée de la Grande-Bretagne pour enseigner l’histoire à l’école Central Technical de Toronto et son décès à l’âge de 39 ans le 21 décembre 1977, Bob était un enseignant ou un administrateur dans quatre écoles de Toronto : Central Tech, Brockton High School, Humberside Collegiate Institute et Malvern Collegiate Institute. Dans chaque cas, il était un génie pour enthousiasmer les autres autour de lui, les élèves, les collègues enseignants et les parents.

Pendant son mandat au poste de directeur adjoint du Humberside CI, il a eu le défi d’attirer les parents et la collectivité à une fin de semaine de « mosaïque » qui était organisée à l’école. Aucun problème! Bob a installé un projecteur qui pouvait être vu à deux milles à la ronde et plus de 10 000 personnes se sont rendues à Humberside, entre le vendredi après-midi et le samedi soir. Pas étonnant que les élèves ont dit à leurs parents qu’ils fréquentaient une des meilleures écoles du pays et les parents ont informé leurs amis et voisins.

Bob était aussi impliqué dans son organisation professionnelle, OSSTF/FEESO, qu’il l’était dans toute autre activité de sa vie. Il était aussi enseignant à l’école du dimanche et un prédicateur laïc. Bob a porté de nombreux chapeaux au sein de la Fédération entre autres, négociateur en chef et président de district, mais son premier amour a toujours été pour les communications. Il a œuvré au Bureau des relations publiques d’OSSTF/FEESO et a été membre fondateur du Comité provincial des communications, qui a remplacé le Bureau des relations publiques en 1972.

En guise d’appréciation pour ce qu’il avait accompli, le Globe and Mail lui a consacré son principal éditorial peu après son décès. C’était un hommage bien écrit, hors de l’ordinaire dans un espace habituellement réservé aux célébrités mondiales. Il était aussi complètement conçu pour Bob Brooks qui a fait tout son possible, tout au long de sa vie, pour que l’impossible semble une tâche routinière et que jamais rien ne soit accompli à moitié. Quand le Comité provincial des communications d’OSSTF/FEESO a pris la décision, en 1978, de recommander un prix provincial pour encourager davantage l’implication des écoles et des collectivités, il n’y avait qu’un seul nom pour ce prix : Bob Brooks.

Soumettre une demande

La date limite pour les candidatures à ce prix est le 1er avril; elles doivent être soumises par voie électronique, par télécopieur au 416-751-7079 ou par la poste à :

Tracey Marshall
Secteur des communications/action politique
60 Mobile Dr
Toronto, ON  M4A 2P3

Le formulaire électronique permet de télécharger des documents. Vous pouvez soumettre des annexes dont la taille maximum est de 20 Mo. Chaque fichier ne devrait pas dépasser les 3 Mo. Si vous soumettez votre formulaire électronique de candidature avec des documents joints qui dépassent 20 Mo, vous recevrez une page d’erreur « Page Not Found ». Si vos pièces sont volumineuses, nous recommandons de les envoyer par courriel à Melanie Opaleychuk ou par la poste à Tracey Marshall.

Directives

Critères

Le prix Bob Brooks est décerné pour l’excellence des relations entre l’école et la communauté. Ce prix peut être accordé une fois pendant la carrière, à un membre individuel d’OSSTF/FEESO, à un membre du personnel ou un groupe de la Fédération. On encourage les candidatures provenant du personnel de l’école, des groupes communautaires ou de parents, des conseils étudiants ou d’individus.

Avertissement

L’Exécutif provincial déterminera quelle candidature, le cas échéant, recevra le prix en fonction des critères établis. L’Exécutif provincial se réserve le droit de ne pas attribuer le prix au cours d’une année donnée.

Candidatures

Qui peut mettre en candidature? Tout membre actif d’unité de négociation d’OSSTF/FEESO
Qui doit mettre en candidature? L’exécutif de l’unité de négociation ou du district doit appuyer la candidature et inclure une résolution
Qui est admissible? Tout membre actif en règle d’OSSTF/FEESO
Quelle information
faut-il?
Exemples concrets pour appuyer la mise en candidature. Pas plus de 15 pages de documents d’appui. Pas de vidéo. La résolution d’appui de la candidature provenant de l’unité de négociation ou du district doit accompagner la demande
Quand aura lieu la présentation? Conseil provincial de mai/juin
Comment le lauréat sera-t-il avisé? Le membre du Secrétariat assigné au prix communiquera avec la personne qui a proposé la candidature avant la cérémonie de remise des prix pour obtenir les coordonnées du lauréat. On ne communiquera qu’avec les lauréats
Publicité OSSTF/FEESO fera connaître les contributions apportées par les lauréats dans ses publications
Image du prix Contenu à venir
Lauréates et lauréats antérieurs
1979 Terry Clifford D 04 London
1980 Eugene Tenus D 15 Toronto
1981 Staff of Loyalist CVI D 20 Frontenac
1982 Fred Burford D 13 North York
1983 Murray Juffs D 23 Grey
1984 After Four Community Cable D 05 Brant Bruce Strong
1985 Danforth Technical School D 15 Toronto
1986 Brockton High School D 15 Toronto
1987 Michael Schertzer D 05 Brant
1988 Robert Asselstine D 35 Elgin
1989 Robert McCarthy D 03 Lambton
1990 Margaret Davey D 02 Kent
1991 Roger Langen D 14 City of York
1992 Students / Staff of Clarkson SS D 10 Peel
1993 Joseph Drago D 31 Sudbury
1994 William Dickie D 21 Seaway
1995 Vera Taylor D 16 Scarborough
1996 Thomas Davis D 18 Peterborough
1997 Garry Gauthier D 43 Carleton
1998 Maxine Lane D 08 Hamilton
1999 Leonard Skye D 5A Northern Shield
2000 Ray Pidzamecky / Penny Smith D 20 Halton
2001 Not awarded  
2002 Dave Babbitt D 10 Lambton Kent
2003 Bonnie Blunt D 23 Grand Erie
2004 Norma Rookwood D 21 Hamilton-Wentworth
2005 Bruce Davidson D 10 Lambton Kent
2006 Janie Kelly D 14 Kawartha Pine Ridge
2007 Betty Finley D 23 Grand Erie
2008 Not awarded  
2009 Not awarded  
2010 David Sheridan D 26 Upper Canada
2011 Brad Thomas D 16 York Region
2012 Not awarded  
2013 Michael Wright  
2014 Paul Found D 14 Kawartha Pine Ridge
2015 Not awarded  
2016 D 29 Hastings Prince Edward  
2017 Not awarded  
2018 Nicole Swain D 13 Durham

 

Liens connexes

Coordonnées

Tracey Marshall

Adjointe exécutive, Secteur des communications/action politique

Fédération des enseignantes-enseignants des écoles secondaires de l'Ontario

60 Mobile Dr
Toronto, ON  M4A 2P3

Tél: 416-751-8300

Sans frais: 1-800-267-7867

Téléc: 416-751-7079

Awards, Scholarships, Grants, and Bursaries

OSSTF/FEESO Awards of Recognition for Members · Bob Brooks Award

Update

 
Services

Bob Brooks Award

Bob Brooks Award

INTRODUCTORY PAGE

Bob Brooks, for whom the award for excellence in community and school relations is named, believed very strongly in the excellence of public schools.  He also believed in sharing these beliefs with others.  Between 1961, when he arrived from Great Britain to teach history at Toronto’s Central Technical School and December 21, 1977.  When he died at age 39, Bob was a teacher or administrator at four Toronto schools: Central Tech, Brockton High School, Humberside Collegiate Institute and Malvern Collegiate Institute.  In each case, he had a genius for enthusing others around him – the students, fellow teachers and parents.
During his term as Vice – Principal at Humberside CI, he was faced with the question of attracting parents and community to a weekend mosaic being held at the school.  No Problem!  Bob installed a searchlight that could be seen two miles away – and more than 10, 000 people passed through Humberside between Friday afternoon and Saturday night of that weekend.  No wonder that his students told their parents they were in one of the best schools in the country.  And the parents told their friends and neighbours.

Bob was just as involved in his professional organization, OSSTF/FEESO, as he was in everything else in his life.  He was also a Sunday school teacher and lay preacher.  Bob wore many different Federation hats including Chief Negotiator and District President.  But his first love was communications.  He served on the OSSTF/FEESO Public Relations Board and was a founding member of the provincial Communications Committee, which replaced the PR Board in 1972.

A mark of the esteem in which he was held was the fact that the Globe and Mail devoted its lead editorial to his death, shortly after his passing.  It was a well – written, uncommon tribute in space usually reserved for persons of world stature.  It was also totally fitting for Bob Brooks who made a lifelong habit of making the impossible seem routine and who never did anything by halves. When the provincial Communications Committee decided in 1978 to recommend a provincial OSSTF/FEESO award to encourage more school/community involvement there was only one name in mind for the award: Bob Brooks.

The deadline for nominations is April 1 and must be submitted to the following by electronic form, fax to 416-751-7079 or by mail to:

Tracey Marshall
Communications and Political Action Department
60 Mobile Drive
Toronto, Ontario
M4A 2P3


The electronic form features file upload capability.  You may submit attachments no larger than 20 MB.  Each file should be no more than 3MB.  If you submit your online form with attachments over 20 MB, you will arrive at a Page Not Found error.  If your attachments are large, we recommend you email them to melanie.opaleychuk@osstf.ca or mail them to Tracey Marshall.

 

Guidelines

Criteria

The Bob Brooks Award is presented for excellence in school community relations.  The award may be bestowed, once in a career, upon an individual OSSTF/FEESO member, a staff or a Federation group.  Nominations are encouraged from school staff, parent or community groups, student councils or individuals.  

 

Disclaimer

The Educational Services committee will determine which, if any, applicant will receive the award based on the established criteria.  Educational Services committee reserves the right not to grant the award in any given year.

 

Nominations

 

Who can propose? Any active Bargaining Unit Member in OSSTF/FEESO.
Who must nominate? A District or Bargaining Unit Executive must endorse the nominee and include the resolution.
Who is eligible? All active members of OSSTF/FEESO in good standing.
What is required? Provide concrete examples to support the nomination. No more than 15 pages of supporting documents. No videos. A District or Bargaining Unit motion of endorsement of the nominee must accompany the application.
Where will the presentation occur? May/June Provincial Council
How will winner be notified? The secretariat member attached to the award will make contact with the nominator prior to the award ceremony to get winner’s contact information. Only winning entries will be contacted.
Publicity OSSTF/FEESO will publicize the contributions of the award winner in its publications.

 

Award Image

 

 

Previous Winners

 

1979 – Terry Clifford D 04 London
1980 – Eugene Tenus D 15 Toronto
1981 – Staff of Loyalist CVI D 20 Frontenac

1982 – Fred Burford

D 13 North York
1983 – Murray Juffs D 23 Grey

1984 – After Four Community Cable

Bruce Strong

D 05 Brant

1985 – Danforth Technical School

D 15 Toronto
1986 – Brockton High School D 15 Toronto
1987 – Michael Schertzer D 05 Brant
1988 – Robert Asselstine D 35 Elgin
1989 – Robert McCarthy D 03 Lambton
1990 – Margaret Davey D 02 Kent

1991 – Roger Langen

D 14 City of York
1992 – Students/Staff of Clarkson SS D 10 Peel
1993 – Joseph Drago D 31 Sudbury
1994 – William Dickie D 21 Seaway
1995 – Vera Taylor D 16 Scarborough
1996 – Thomas Davis D 18 Peterborough
1997 – Garry Gauthier D 43 Carleton
1998 – Maxine Lane D 08 Hamilton
1999 – Leonard Skye D 5A Northern Shield
2000 – Ray Pidzamecky/Penny Smith D 20 Halton
2001 – Not Awarded

 

2002 – Dave Babbitt D 10 Lambton Kent
2003 – Bonnie Blunt D 23 Grand Erie
2004 – Norma Rookwood D 21 Hamilton – Wentworth
2005 – Bruce Davidson D 10 Lambton Kent
2006 – Janie Kelly D 14 Kawartha Pine Ridge
2007 – Betty Finley D 23 Grand Erie
2008 – Not Awarded
2009 – Not Awarded
2010 – David Sheridan
D 26 Upper Canada
2011 – Brad Thomas
D 16 York Region
2012 – Not Awarded
2013 – Michael Wright
2014 – Paul Found
D 14 Kawartha Pine Ridge
2015 – Not Awarded
2016 – D 29 Hastings Prince Edward
2017 – Not Awarded
2018 – Nicole Swain
D 13 Durham

 

Related Links

Contact Information

Tracey Marshall

Executive Assistant

Ontario Secondary School Teachers’ Federation

Phone: 416-751-8300