News · OSSTF/FEESO Announces Winners of 2022 Student Achievement Awards



OSSTF/FEESO Announces Winners of 2022 Student Achievement Awards

TORONTO, ON – September 26, 2022 — This past weekend, the Ontario Secondary School Teachers’ Federation (OSSTF/FEESO) held the 2022 Student Achievement Awards, celebrating winners from all over Ontario.

“Every year, the Student Achievement Awards receive a wide range of inspirational and creative submissions from across the province. It was clear from this year’s submissions that the 2022 theme, Our Moment in Time, captured the students’ imaginations and inspired some truly amazing work,” said OSSTF/FEESO President, Karen Littlewood.

“The OSSTF/FEESO Student Achievement Awards are prestigious for the students who win, and they have also become an important tradition for our Federation, affirming the impact of our Members’ daily efforts. OSSTF/FEESO Members teach, encourage, and guide students in the exploration and expression of their creativity. All the submissions clearly demonstrate the importance of the arts in developing a student’s identity and helping them better understand their world,” added President Littlewood.

The 2022 Student Achievement Awards were presented on September 24 at a virtual ceremony. Below is the full list of winners:

  • Lauren Altomare, Toronto, Prose and Poetry, French 11-12
  • Billy Brooks, Petrolia, Prose and Poetry, Non-Credit
  • Calvin Cao, London, Digital Arts, 9-12
  • Alden Desy, Peterborough, Prose and Poetry, Intermediate Academic 9-10
  • James Gardner, Pelee Island, Prose and Poetry, Intermediate Applied 9-10
  • Daria Ilas, Toronto, Prose and Poetry, French 9-10
  • Fariha and Samina Kabir, Brampton, Non-Credit
  • Michael James-McDonald, Richmond Hill, Prose and Poetry, Senior University 11-12
  • Amelie Nguyen, Sarnia, Visual Arts, Intermediate 9-10
  • Caitlin Squires, Oshawa, Visual Arts, Senior 11-12
  • Zainab Yasir, Brampton, Prose and Poetry, College/Workplace 11-12

OSSTF/FEESO, founded in 1919, has over 60,000 members across Ontario. They include public high school teachers, occasional teachers, educational assistants, continuing education teachers and instructors, early childhood educators, psychologists, secretaries, speech-language pathologists, social workers, plant support personnel, university support staff, and many others in education.

Related Attachments

Contact Information

Caitlin Reid

Media and Communications Advisor

Ontario Secondary School Teachers’ Federation

49 Mobile Dr
Toronto, ON  M4A 1H5

Phone: 416-576-8346

Toll Free: 1-800-267-7867

Share This Page