Awards, Scholarships, Grants, and Bursaries

OSSTF/FEESO Awards of Recognition for Members · Nancy Warrener Award



Nancy Warrener Award

Nancy Warrener Award


The Nancy Warrener Award commemorates the life of a vibrant teacher who taught in District 23 at Simcoe Composite High School.  Nancy will be remembered for the upbeat sensitivity and creativity she brought to her multifaceted OSSTF/FEESO professional development activities at both the district and provincial levels.

The deadline for nominations is January 31 and must be submitted online by clicking on the Nomination Form link below:

The electronic form features file upload capability.  You may submit attachments no larger than 20 MB.  Each file should be no more than 3MB.  If you submit your online form with attachments over 20 MB, you will arrive at a Page Not Found error.  If your attachments are large, we recommend you email them to or mail them to Randy Banderob.


Nomination Form






The criteria for receiving this annual award reflects the “This is Good” attitude and professional dedication with which Nancy Warrener approached life, prior to her tragic death in an August 2000 house fire.

The Educational Services Committee will consider the following criteria when making its decisions on the recipients of this award:

• A high level of energy.
• A positive outlook.
• An attitude and practice that inspires others to engage in personal growth and development.
• A “booster” of professional development and the engagement of all members.
• Assistance to new OSSTF/FEESO members.
• Involvement at both the bargaining unit and district levels.



The Educational Services Committee will determine which, if any, applicant will receive the award based on the established criteria.  Educational Services Committee reserves the right not to grant the award in any given year.




Who can propose? Any active Bargaining Unit Member in OSSTF/FEESO.
Who must nominate? A District or Bargaining Unit Executive must endorse the nominee.
Who is eligible? All active members of OSSTF/FEESO in good standing with exception of members of the Educational Services Committee.
What is required? Provide concrete examples to support the nomination.
Where will the presentation occur?
Either the biennial Educational Services Professional Development Conference or the Educational Services Officer Conference.
How will winner be notified? The secretariat member attached to the award will make contact with the nominator prior to the award ceremony to get winner’s contact information. Only winning entries will be contacted.
Publicity OSSTF/FEESO will publicize the contributions of the award winner in its publications.
Award Image



Previous Winners   

2001 – 2002 – Michael Budd D 09 Greater Essex

2002 – 2003 – Debbie Bonthron

Suzette Clark

D 17 Simcoe

D 09 Greater Essex

2003 – 2004 – Gerry Culhane
D 01 Ontario North East

2004 – 2005 – Sandra Sahli

D 09 Greater Essex
2005 – 2006 – Not Awarded

2006 – 2007 – Not Awarded

2007 – 2008 – Susan Robinson

Gale Dores

D 6A Thunder Bay

D 26 Upper Canada

2008 – 2009 – Sue Smith D 6A Thunder Bay

2009 - 2010 – Kevin McFadden

Tracey Hughes

D 6A Thunder Bay

D 14 Kawartha Pine Ridge

2011 – 2012 – Lindsay Chase D 22 Niagara
2012 – 2013 – Paul Brown D 21 Hamilton – Wentworth
2013 – 2014 – Jenny Chen D 12 Toronto
2014 – 2015 – Marilyn Campbell D 23 Grand Erie
2015 - 2016 – Sue Melville D 03 Rainbow
2016 – 2017 – Not Awarded

2017 – 2018 – Ellen Hinan

D 14 Kawartha Pine Ridge


Related Links

Contact Information

Randy Banderob

Executive Assistant, Educational Services Department

Ontario Secondary School Teachers’ Federation

60 Mobile Dr
Toronto, ON  M4A 2P3

Phone: 416-751-8300

Toll Free: 1-800-267-7867

Fax: 416-751-7079