OSSTF/FEESO Awards of Recognition for Members

OSSTF/FEESO Provincial Member Award Winners — 2016/2017 · Provincial Executive Awards 2016/2017



Provincial Executive Awards 2016/2017

Jo Dean, Buzz Grebenc, Julie Hutchins, Mary Jane Karkheck, Dan Maxwell and Sue Doughty-Smith

Jo Dean – District 9 Greater Essex

Jo has been active in OSSTF/FEESO throughout her entire career in education as a local member of her executive through to her election on Provincial Executive as an Executive Officer in 2013. Her election as the Teacher Bargaining Unit Chief Negotiator in District 9 Greater Essex in 1998 left her the challenging task of integrating two collective agreements after the merger of the former Windsor and Essex school boards. She would later move on to serve as bargaining unit and district President. Jo was elected to the Provincial Executive in 2013 as an Executive Officer, and was reelected to that position in 2015. Jo has put almost 30 years of her life into OSSTF/FEESO as a leader and advocate for education workers in Ontario.

Buzz Grebenc – District 6B Superior North

Buzz has served as a district and teacher bargaining unit president in District 6B Superior North since 2003. He has often been recognized as a strong voice of reason and clarity for his members locally, and at Provincial Council on many occasions. His belief in meeting members face-to-face has led him on many journeys from community to community in one of the largest geographical districts in OSSTF/FEESO. Buzz’s unwavering dedication to the Federation has been recognized by his friends, colleagues and employer.

Julie Hutchins – District 35 Colleges and Universities

Julie has been an employee of the University of Guelph for 42 years. What is more astonishing is that she has been president of her bargaining unit for 29 consecutive years. However, for most of those years, her group never had official bargaining unit status. That was until 2012 when Julie helped to bring her fellow employees into OSSTF/FEESO to become part of District 35. Julie has been described as “one of the greatest role models” and was instrumental in getting her members their first collective agreement as part of OSSTF/FEESO.

Mary Jane Karkheck – District 8 Avon Maitland

Mary Jane has been a very active member of the Federation both in District 8 Avon Maitland and provincially. She has been the president of the educational support staff bargaining unit and on the district executive. Mary Jane became Chair of Provincial Council in 2011 and was reelected / acclaimed to that position through to 2017. She has served on many provincial bodies, including the Collective Bargaining Advisory Work Group, and has been a frequent workshop presenter. Mary Jane has been a strong advocate for support staff issues and for OSSTF/FEESO as a whole during her many years of service to the Federation and its members.

Dan Maxwell – District 25 Ottawa-Carleton

Dan has a long record of service with OSSTF/FEESO both locally and provincially. He served on many positions on his local teacher bargaining unit and district executives, which included his service as bargaining unit president for six years. In addition, Dan was elected as an Ontario Teachers’ Federation (OTF) Governor and has been an ambassador for OSSTF/FEESO in local community events and charities. He has also been an active member of his local labour council.

Sue Doughty-Smith – District 6A Thunder Bay

Sue has a broad record of service with OSSTF/FEESO both locally and provincially. Sue is seen as a modern founder of the Federation as she was part of a team of support staff professionals who brought their members in District 6A Thunder Bay into OSSTF/FEESO in 1991. She was elected as the bargaining unit president in 2000, and remained in that position until she ran for the Provincial Executive in 2013. Sue was elected as an Executive Officer and reelected again for another two year term in 2015. She has been recognized as a strong advocate for all members of OSSTF/FEESO, regardless of job class.

Share This Page