Awards, Scholarships, Grants, and Bursaries

OSSTF/FEESO Awards of Recognition for Members · James Forster Human Rights Award



James Forster Human Rights Award

The James Forster Award for Human Rights shall be presented annually to a member of OSSTF/FEESO who has shown exemplary dedication in the struggle for equity and the promotion of human rights locally, provincially and/or internationally over a number of years.  This award was established by the Provincial Council of OSSTF/FEESO in April 2001.

The deadline for nominations is January 31 and must be submitted online by clicking on the Nomination Form link below:

The electronic form features file upload capability.  You may submit attachments no larger than 20 MB.  Each file should be no more than 3MB.  If you submit your online form with attachments over 20 MB, you will arrive at a Page Not Found error.  If your attachments are large, we recommend you email them to or mail them to Tracey Marshall.

Nomination Form



The Provincial Human Rights Committee will consider the following criteria:

  • Shows evidence of equity and human rights dedication and leadership at the local level.
  • Shows evidence of equity and human rights dedication and leadership provincially and/or internationally.
  • Strong advocate for social justice.
  • Equity and human rights work conducted over a number of years.


The Human Rights Committee will determine which, if any, applicant will receive the award based on the established criteria.  The Human Rights Committee reserves the right not to grant the award in any given year.


Who can propose? A District, Bargaining Unit, or individual member.
Who must nominate? A District or Bargaining Unit.
Who is eligible? A District, Bargaining Unit or individual active member in good standing, with the exception of current Human Rights Committee members.
What is required? Concrete examples to support the nomination. A District or Bargaining Unit motion of endorsement of the nominee must accompany the application.
Where will the presentation occur? June Provincial Council
How will winner be notified? The secretariat member attached to the award will make contact with the nominator approximately 1 month prior to the award ceremony to get winner’s contact information. Only winning entries will be contacted.
Publicity OSSTF/FEESO will publicize the contributions of the award winner in its publications.


Award Image

Previous Winners  

2001 – Roberta Fuller D 14 Kawartha Pine Ridge
2002 – Not Awarded
2003 – Not Awarded

2004 – Lynda Lemberg

D 12 Toronto
2005 – Roger Langen D 12 Toronto
2006 – Bryan Smith D 11 Thames Valley

2007 – Colleen Ireland

D 16 York Region
2008 – Cameron Douglas D 14 Kawartha Pine Ridge
2009 – Lori Taylor

D 26 Upper Canada

2010 – Elizabeth Akano

D 11 Thames Valley

2011 – Carlos Santander Maturana D 6A Thunder Bay
2012 – Diane Ballantyne D 18 Upper Grand
2013 – Not Awarded
2014 – Not Awarded
2015 – Not Awarded

2016 – Diane Akitt D 07 Bluewater
2017 – Jenny Chen D 12 Toronto

2018 – Garrett Metcalfe

D 13 Durham

Related Links

Contact Information

Tracey Germa

Executive Assistant, Communications and Political Action Department

Ontario Secondary School Teachers' Federation

49 Mobile Dr.
Toronto, Ontario
M4A 1H5

Phone: (416)751-8300

Toll Free: 1-800-267-7867

Fax: 416-751-3394