Awards, Scholarships, Grants, and Bursaries

OSSTF/FEESO Awards of Recognition for Members · Jennifer MacLean Health and Safety Award



Jennifer MacLean Health and Safety Award

The Jennifer MacLean Health and Safety Award was established in honour of a District 21 Hamilton – Wentworth occasional teacher and health and safety activist.  The award recognizes outstanding achievement in the area of health and safety by an OSSTF/FEESO member.  

The deadline for nominations is January 31 and must be submitted online by clicking on the Nomination Form link below:

The electronic form features file upload capability.  You may submit attachments no larger than 20 MB.  Each file should be no more than 3MB.  If you submit your online form with attachments over 20 MB, you will arrive at a Page Not Found error.  If your attachments are large, we recommend you email them to or mail them to Norm Westbury.

Nomination Form



The recipient of the Jennifer MacLean Health and Safety Award will have demonstrated the following:

  • Certified member on a Joint Health and Safety Committee.
  • Demonstrated leadership in dealing with health and safety issues.
  • Instrumental in providing exceptional health and safety training.
  • Involvement at the provincial level and/or the broader labour community is an asset.


The Health and Safety/Workplace Safety and Insurance Act committee will determine which, if any, applicant will receive the award based on the established criteria.  The Health and Safety/Workplace Safety and Insurance Act committee reserves the right not to grant the award in any given year.


Who can propose? Any active Bargaining Unit Member in OSSTF/FEESO.
Who must nominate? A District or Bargaining Unit Executive.
Who is eligible? All active members of OSSTF/FEESO in good standing, with the exception of current Health and Safety/Workplace Safety and Insurance Act committee members.
What is required? Provide concrete examples to support the nomination.
Where will the presentation occur? Annual Meeting of the Provincial Assembly.
How will winner be notified? The secretariat member attached to the award will make contact with the nominator prior to the award ceremony to get winner’s contact information. Only winning entries will be contacted.
Publicity OSSTF/FEESO will publicize the contributions of the award winner in its publications.


Award Image

Related Links

Contact Information

Norm Westbury

Negotiations/Contract Maintenance Department

Ontario Secondary School Teachers' Federation

49 Mobile Dr
Toronto, ON  M4A 1H5

Phone: 416-751-8300

Toll Free: 1-800-267-7867