Awards, Scholarships, Grants, and Bursaries

OSSTF/FEESO Awards of Recognition for Members · John McNeil Award



John McNeil Award

The John McNeil Award was established in honour of a retired OSSTF/FEESO secretariat member who excelled in the area of collective bargaining and protection of members.  The award recognized outstanding achievement in the area of collective bargaining by an OSSTF/FEESO member.  

The deadline for nominations is January 31 and must be submitted online by clicking on the Nomination Form link below:

The electronic form features file upload capability.  You may submit attachments no larger than 20 MB.  Each file should be no more than 3MB.  If you submit your online form with attachments over 20 MB, you will arrive at a Page Not Found error.  If your attachments are large, we recommend you email them to

Nomination Form



The recipient of the John McNeil Award will have demonstrated outstanding leadership in local collective bargaining, member protection and contract maintenance.  Involvement at the Provincial level is considered an asset.


The Protective Services Committee will determine which, if any, applicant will receive the award based on the established criteria.  The Protective Services Committee reserves the right not to grant the award in any given year.


Who can propose? Any active Bargaining Unit Member in OSSTF/FEESO.
Who must nominate? A District and/or Bargaining Unit Executive.
Who is eligible? All active members of OSSTF/FEESO in good standing.
What is required? Provide concrete examples to support the nomination.
Where will the presentation occur? Protective Services Committee Conference.
How will winner be notified? The secretariat member attached to the award will make contact with the nominator prior to the award ceremony to get winner’s contact information. Only winning entries will be contacted..
Publicity OSSTF/FEESO will publicize the contributions of the award winner in its publications.
Previous Winners
2003 – Ken Robbins D 08 Avon Maitland
2004 – Sue Kaufman D 16 York Region
2005 – David Brohman D 24 Waterloo
2006 – John Callaghan D 10 Lambton Kent
2007 – Norm Uhrig D 21 Hamilton – Wentworth
2008 – Tom Downer D 07 Bluewater
2009 – Ben Andrews D 17 Simcoe
2010 – Kelly Morin Currie D 23 Grand Erie
2011 – Jo Dean D 09 Greater Essex
2012 – Not Awarded
2013 – Rob Shaheen D 26 Upper Canada
2014 – Not Awarded
2015 – Andre Filion D 35 University of Ottawa
2016 – Tracie Edward D 09 Greater Essex
2017 – Sandy Stewart D 25 Ottawa – Carleton
2018 – Not Awarded

Related Links

Contact Information


49 Mobile Dr
Toronto, ON  M4A 1H5

Phone: 416-751-8300

Fax: 416-751-3394

Toll Free: 1-800-267-7867