Awards, Scholarships, Grants, and Bursaries

OSSTF/FEESO Awards of Recognition for Members · Liz Barkley Status of Women Award



Liz Barkley Status of Women Award

The Liz Barkley Status of Women Award, named in recognition of a former OSSTF/FEESO President, is presented annually at AMPA, to recognize activism and leadership by an OSSTF/FEESO member in advocating and building awareness of women’s economic and equality issues.

The deadline for nominations is January 31 and must be submitted online by clicking on the Nomination Form link below:

The electronic form features file upload capability.  You may submit attachments no larger than 20 MB. Each file should be no more than 3MB. If you submit your online form with attachments over 20 MB, you will arrive at a Page Not Found error.  If your attachments are large, we recommend you email or mail them to the contact below.

Nomination Form



The following are some areas to consider when nominating an OSSTF/FEESO member for the Liz Barkley Status of Women Award.

  • Involvement in projects to support gender equity and safety.
  • Development of programs that have a positive impact on the lives of female students.
  • Initiatives to enhance women’s involvement, activism and opportunities for leadership.
  • Political action and advocacy to protect and enhance equality for women.

The member’s work may be directed within OSSTF/FEESO itself, but may also include efforts within education, labour or women’s movement, and/or the local, national or international community.


The Status of Women committee will determine which, if any, applicant will receive the award based on the established criteria.  The Status of Women committee reserves the right not to grant the award in any given year.


Who can propose? Any active Bargaining Unit Member in OSSTF/FEESO.
Who must nominate? A nomination must receive District or Bargaining Unit support to be considered.
Who is eligible? All active members of OSSTF/FEESO in good standing who are currently serving on either a District/Bargaining Unit/Branch Committee or a District/Bargaining Unit/Branch Executive.
What is required? Outline how the nominee has shown leadership and activism in building awareness and advocating on women’s equality issues. A District or Bargaining Unit motion of endorsement of the nominee must accompany the application.
Where will the presentation occur? Annual Meeting of the Provincial Assembly
How will winner be notified? The secretariat member attached to the award will make contact with the nominator prior to the award ceremony to get winner’s contact information. Only winning entries will be contacted.
Publicity OSSTF/FEESO will publicize the contributions of the award winner in its publications.


Previous Winners
2001 – 2002 Kristin Kainz D Unknown
2002 – 2003 Not Awarded  
2003 – 2004 Sandra Sahli D 09 Greater Essex
2004 – 2005 Patricia Hulme D Unknown
2005 – 2006 Elaine MacDonald D Unknown
2006 – 2007 Lee Ferguson D 03 Rainbow
2007 – 2008 Debbie Bradley D 09 Greater Essex
2008 – 2009 Rosemary Judd – Archer D 29 Hastings Prince Edward
2009 – 2010 Suzanne Turcotte D 12 Toronto
2010 – 2011 Cheryl Cavell D 25 Ottawa – Carleton
2011 – 2012 Chantal Mancini D 21 Hamilton – Wentworth
2012 – 2013 Teresa Marrello D 27 Limestone
2013 – 2014 Patricia Morneau D 09 Greater Essex
2014 – 2015 Not awarded  
2015 – 2016 Kim Kruithof D 01 Ontario North East
2016 – 2017 Carole Hunton D 30 PSAT
2018 – 2019 Lisa MacMaster  
2019 – 2020 Doug Van Der Horden  
2020 – 2021 Not awarded  

Related Links

Contact Information

Tracey Marshall

Executive Assistant, Communications and Political Action Department

Ontario Secondary School Teachers’ Federation

49 Mobile Dr
Toronto, ON  M4A 1H5

Phone: 416-751-8300

Toll Free: 1-800-267-7867

Fax: 416-751-7079