How We Are Organized

Provincial Executive · Karen Littlewood - President (Chief Executive Officer)

Update

 
About Us

Karen Littlewood - President (Chief Executive Officer)

 

Karen Littlewood 
Karen Littlewood
President (Chief Executive Officer)

Karen Littlewood is a special education teacher from Barrie and is the president of the Ontario Secondary School Teachers’ Federation (OSSTF/FEESO).

Karen was born in Barrie and received her Bachelor of Science in Languages at Laurentian University, and completed her Bachelor of Education with Nipissing University. She started her career as an elementary teacher in York Region before moving back to Simcoe County in 2000. In 2007, Karen became a secondary teacher for the Simcoe County District School Board, where she taught Life Skills and Special Education.

Karen became the president of both the District and the Teacher Bargaining Unit for District 17, Simcoe, and held a number of other roles both locally and provincially, including Vice Chair of Provincial Council, and Chair of the Communications and Political Action Committee. In addition, Karen was a member of the Barrie and District Labour Council. Karen was elected to the Provincial Executive as an Executive Officer in 2017, and then as vice-president in 2019.

Karen is an advocate of clear and open communications within OSSTF/FEESO, as well as with the public when it comes to education issues. She is committed to working with the Provincial Executive to enact the Action Plan to Support Equity and Anti-Oppression as well as addressing systemic barriers within the Federation. She is a strong promoter of equity issues within OSSTF/FEESO and beyond, and believes in the importance of building coalitions to affect positive change at all levels of education and in the labour movement.

As only the eleventh female president of OSSTF/FEESO in its history, Karen recognizes the important role she is taking on and seeks to be a strong role model for women and for others in the organization who do not see themselves reflected in our leadership.

Related Links

Notre structure

Exécutif provincial · Karen Littlewood, président (premier dirigeant)

Update

 
À propos de nous

Karen Littlewood, président (premier dirigeant)

 

Karen Littlewood 
Karen Littlewood
président (premier dirigeant)

Karen Littlewood est enseignante en éducation de l’enfance en difficulté de Barrie et présidente de la Fédération des enseignantes-enseignants des écoles secondaires de l’Ontario (OSSTF/FEESO).

Karen est née à Barrie et a obtenu son baccalauréat en sciences du langage de l’Université Laurentienne et son baccalauréat en éducation à l’Université Nipissing. Elle a entamé sa carrière comme enseignante au niveau élémentaire dans la région de York, avant de réaménager dans le district de Simcoe en 2000. En 2007, Karen est devenue enseignante au niveau secondaire au sein du Simcoe County District School Board, où elle a enseigné les aptitudes à la vie quotidienne et l’éducation de l’enfance en difficulté.

Karen est devenue présidente d’unité de négociation ainsi que du district pour le District 17, Simcoe a tenu un certain nombre de rôles tant au palier local que provincial, y compris vice-président du Conseil provincial et présidente du Comité des communications et de l’action politique. De plus, Karen a été membre du Conseil du travail de Barrie et du district. Karen a été élue à l’Exécutif provincial à titre d’agente de l’Exécutif en 2017 et comme vice-présidente en 2019.

Karen se porte à la défense des communications claires et ouvertes au sein d’OSSTF/FEESO, ainsi que du public en matière d’enjeux en éducation. Elle s’engage à travailler en collaboration avec l’Exécutif provincial dans le but de mettre en œuvre le Plan d’action pour appuyer l’égalité et la lutte contre l’oppression et de lutter contre les obstacles systémiques au sein de la Fédération. Elle favorise fortement les questions d’égalité au sein d’OSSTF/FEESO et au-delà et croit en l’importance de forger des coalitions afin d’apporter des changements positifs à tous les niveaux de l’éducation et au sein du mouvement syndical.

Liens connexes