OSSTF/FEESO Home

askOSSTF · What do I get for my union dues?

Update

 
askOSSTF

What do I get for my union dues?

askOSSTFThe Ontario Secondary School Teacher’s Federation (OSSTF) welcomes its new members whether they be teachers or educational workers and strives to provide them with the information needed to work safely and professionally. We also want to educate our new members as to their rights and responsibilities, both as members of OSSTF/FEESO and as employees.

OSSTF/FEESO, like every union, exists to protect and serve its membership — do not be afraid to ask questions or request assistance.

The five “Frequently Asked Questions” (FAQ) categories below will provide information about a wide variety of questions that new members often have about being part of a union in general or about OSSTF/FEESO in particular.

If you don’t find what you are looking for in any of the sections below, please fill in and submit the “Send us a message" form on the Contact Us page and someone will get back to you with an answer as quickly as possible.

Inside askOSSTF

How much do I have to pay in union dues?

Active members comprise the bulk of our membership. They are members who are currently employed by school boards or other education employers and who pay active member fees to OSSTF/FEESO. These union dues are currently 1.3% of gross earnings (plus local levies where applicable) and are deducted automatically from your pay cheque. Because it is a percentage-based fee, OSSTF/FEESO union dues are geared to your income level. In addition, union dues are also tax deductable.

What are my rights and responsibilities as an OSSTF/FEESO member?

Bylaw 2.1.1.6 of the Provincial Constitution and Bylaws outlines the “Rights, Privileges and Duties of Active Members” of OSSTF/FEESO:

• “Active Members shall have the right to seek the advice of the OSSTF on any matter of professional relationship between the Member and a fellow Member, an employer, their professional college(s), the Ministry of Education, the Ministry of Training, Colleges and Universities, a student, a parent or the public in general.“

• “An Active Member shall have the automatic right to representation in a professional difficulty with an employer or other external agency; such representation may include provision of legal counsel subject to approval by the Provincial Executive.”

In general, the responsibilities of OSSTF/FEESO members are outlined in our pledge:

“I solemnly dedicate myself to promote and advance the cause of education.
I will strive to achieve and maintain the highest degree of professional competence and will always uphold the honour, dignity, and ethical standards of my profession.
I pledge my loyalty and support to the Ontario Secondary School Teachers' Federation and will comply with the Constitution, Bylaws, Policies, and established practices which govern its members.”

These responsibilities and duties are further described in specific Bylaws and Policies

• Bylaw 2.4.2 outlines the “Duties of Members to Other Members.”

• Bylaw 2.4.3 outlines the “Duties of Members to OSSTF.”

• Bylaw 2.4.4 outlines the “Duties of Members During Negotiations/Sanctions.”

• Internal Policy 1 of the outlines the “Ethics” that OSSTF/FEESO members are expected to uphold.

Do I have to join the Union?

All teachers (as defined in the Teaching Profession Act) are required by law to belong to the Ontario Teachers’ Federation as a condition of teaching in the publicly funded schools of Ontario. The OTF is made up of four unions: OSSTF/FEESO, ETFO, OECTA and AEFO. The specific union to which a teacher belongs is dictated by who hires him/her. All teachers in English-language public secondary schools automatically become members of OSSTF/FEESO. Similarly, all teachers in English-language public elementary schools belong to ETFO; all teachers in English-language Catholic secondary and elementary schools belong to OECTA; all teachers in French-language, public and Catholic, secondary and elementary schools belong to AEFO.

All other educational workers who are members of OSSTF/FEESO became members originally by choice, and subsequently, as a condition of employment as outlined in their collective agreement with their respective employers.

How would my job be different without the Union?

The School Zone video humourously explores the benefits and protection OSSTF/FEESO has gained for members through advocacy and collective bargaining. It highlights issues such as salary and benefits, retirement entitlements, working conditions, privatization, professional development and health and safety.

There is a great deal of discussion, primarily in the United States, about the move to privatize public education and to get rid of unions. The arguments presented consist of vague and unsupportable “myths” about unions; our response to those myths can be found in the document “Union Myth Information Debunked” which lists ten of the most common misconceptions people have about Educations Unions and provides a clear understanding of what OSSTF/FEESO, as a union, stands for and how it works for its members and champions the public education system.

What services does OSSTF/FEESO provide to members?

OSSTF/FEESO’s Going Strong: The Right Choice For You is a short video that highlights the union’s services and what it stands for. It provides an excellent overview of our Federation.

OSSTF/FEESO is a recognized trade union under the Labour Relations Act and as such, one of its primary roles is to negotiate and maintain collective agreements for its members. Separate collective agreements are negotiated between each of the over 140 bargaining units and their employers and are unique to each bargaining unit.

The section called What We Stand For goes into a little more detail about our principles related to public education, equity and social justice. Our principles drive everything we do for our members and for society.

Public education is the key to Ontario’s future. Our vision for publicly-funded education in this province, called Public Education – Investing in Ontario, has the goal of providing students with the ability and confidence to meet the new challenges of the 21st century.

OSSTF/FEESO’s three main services – Protective Services; Educational Services; and Communications and Political Action – are described in the What We Do section of the website.

We also provide rich professional development workshops and a wide variety of resourcesto assist our members to become better informed about their work, their union, their rights and their protections.

An outstanding collection of books and resources authored and edited by educators have been produced by OSSTF/FEESO, and are available for purchase by both members and non-members. Click on the individual book/resource titles below for further information and for an order form. (In addition to the resources on this page, a wide variety of other resources, available free of charge, can be found in the Resource Centre.) The Federation Store has clothing and other gear and gifts that can be purchased.

Where do I find information about contract negotiations?

The members-only section is available to active OSSTF/FEESO members only. User accounts are created by Provincial Office staff. Your OSSTF/FEESO Membership ID can be found on your OSSTF/FEESO Membership Card and contains digits only. Your password is included with the annual renewal stickers that arrive in member mailboxes within the first two weeks of December. If you are a new member and have not received a letter containing the necessary details, please contact the Membership Database department at Provincial Office to confirm your eligibility to access this site.

This section of the website will directly provide you with more sensitive information that is not meant for the general public and that you can review at your convenience. If you have any questions about the information posted here, you should first contact your local Bargaining Unit President for clarification.

What other benefits are there to being an OSSTF/FEESO member?

As an OSSTF/FEESO member, you have ready access to a wide range of services. They span the professional and protective needs of all members. In addition, there are a number of other services and products that members may choose to access.

Educators Financial Group has exclusively served members of the education community and their immediate family members for over 30 years with services such as:

• Planning – free professional financial planning and independent advice

• Investing – solid investment strategies, focused on performance, including RRSPs and RESPs

• Lending – low mortgage rates, and flexible options for educators

Educators Financial Group, established in 1975 by OSSTF/FEESO, is committed to serving only active and retired members of the education community (and their immediate family members). They are the only company in Canada which offers this exclusive service.

Ontario Teachers’ Insurance Plan (OTIP/RAEO) provides insurance and group benefit services for education employees and retirees. Personal insurance products include, auto, home, property, travel, life, and recreational vehicle insurance. Group benefits plans can include: long term disability, life, dependent life, extended health care, dental care.

OTIP/RAEO is a non-profit organization owned and jointly governed by a Board of Trustees representing Ontario’s four education affiliates (AEFO, ETFO, OECTA and OSSTF/FEESO).

In addition, each year, OTIP awards twelve $1,500 academic bursaries to six female and six male students across Ontario. Through an online application, members insured with OTIP can enter one of their relatives (e.g. child, step-child, grandchild, niece, sister, spouse etc.) for a chance to win one of the bursaries.

Edvantage offers great rewards and discounts to education employees and their families through partnerships with retailers and businesses throughout Ontario. OTIP/RAEO administers Edvantage on behalf of your teachers' association. Through continued support from our partners, Edvantage is able to offer great discounts, special offers and contests to you, our valued members. Your OSSTF/FEESO membership card serves a dual purpose as your association card and your Edvantage membership card.

Teachers Life offers life insurance to the education community. This insurance company started as a compassionate group of secondary school educators, who believed in the advantages of helping each other. Still true to their roots, 75 years later, Teachers Life has grown into one of the most innovative, respected and successful not-for-profit insurance organizations in Canada.

Where can I find pension information?

OSSTF/FEESO represents members who are contributors to the Ontario Municipal Employees’ Retirement System (OMERS), the Ontario Teachers’ Pension Plan (OTPP) and university pension plans for support staff from Algoma, Brock, Laurier and the University of Ottawa. Visit our Pensions page for links to the various pension plans.

OSSTF/FEESO employs a Pensions Officer and additional support personnel to provide advice and assistance to members regarding their pensions.

The Federation's OMERS and TPP workshops focus specifically on pension planning and retirement. Whether members are 15 years from retirement or six months away, they'll discover common sense financial strategies and retirement planning ideas.

The workshops are approximately 2½ hours long and provide opportunities for members to ask questions during the presentation or to speak privately with the Pensions Officer and/or presenter. The schedule of workshops, by district, is posted on the website at the beginning of the school year.

Where can I find information about getting an OSSTF/FEESO Certification Rating Statement? (Note: relevant to Teachers and Occasional Teachers only)

OSSTF/FEESO has an internal system for providing Certification Rating Statements to its teacher members. These ratings are used to determine the pay rate for teachers by placing them in one of four possible groups. The Certification section of the provincial website contains information about how certification is done, how to apply, how to get upgrading information and also has its own FAQ section.

What social media does OSSTF/FEESO use to communicate with members?

OSSTF/FEESO has established a presence in social media. We encourage you to explore the various videos available on the OSSTF/FEESO YouTube channel. (Be sure to watch “The School Zone” in particular!) We have also created an OSSTF/FEESO Facebook page; if you have a Facebook account, check us out and feel free to “Like” us. Follow us on Twitter.

Page d'accueil OSSTF/FEESO

Renseignements à l’intention des nouveaux membres · À quoi servent mes cotisations syndicales?

Update

 
demandeFEESO

À quoi servent mes cotisations syndicales?

demandeFEESOLa Fédération des enseignantes-enseignants des écoles secondaires de l’Ontario (FEESO) souhaite la bienvenue à ses nouveaux membres, qu’ils soient enseignants ou travailleurs en éducation, et elle s’efforce de leur fournir les renseignements dont ils ont besoin afin de travailler en toute sécurité et de manière professionnelle. Nous aimerions également instruire nos nouveaux membres sur leurs droits et responsabilités à titre de membres d’OSSTF/FEESO et d’employés.

La raison d’être d’OSSTF/FEESO, comme tout syndicat, est de protéger et de servir ses membres; n’hésitez pas à nous poser des questions ou à demander notre aide.

Les cinq catégories de la Foire aux questions (FAQ), mentionnées ci-dessous, vous renseigneront sur toute une gamme de questions que se posent souvent les nouveaux membres sur l’appartenance à un syndicat, en général, ou sur OSSTF/FEESO, en particulier.

Si vous ne pouvez trouver ce que vous recherchez dans aucune des sections ci-dessous, remplissez et soumettez le « formulaire nous envoyer un message » sur la page Pour nous rejoindre et quelqu’un répondra à votre question, dès que possible.

Dans demandeFEESO

Combien dois-je payer en cotisations syndicales?

Les membres actifs constituent la majorité de nos membres. Ce sont des membres qui sont à l’heure actuelle employés par des conseils scolaires ou d’autres employeurs du domaine de l’éducation et qui paient des cotisations de membres actifs à OSSTF/FEESO. Ces cotisations syndicales correspondent actuellement à 1,3 pour cent du salaire brut (plus les prélèvements locaux, le cas échéant) et sont déduites automatiquement de votre paie. Comme elles sont déterminées selon un pourcentage, les cotisations syndicales d’OSSTF/FEESO sont adaptées à votre niveau de revenu. De plus, les cotisations syndicales sont également déductibles d’impôts.

Quels sont mes droits et responsabilités en tant que membre d’OSSTF/FEESO?

Le Règlement 2.1.1.6 des Statuts et règlements provinciaux décrit les « Droits, privilèges et devoirs des membres actifs » d’OSSTF/FEESO :

• « Les membres auront le droit de consulter la FEESO sur toute matière de relation professionnelle entre un membre, un employeur, leur ordre professionnel, le ministère de l’Éducation, le ministère de la Formation et des Collèges et Universités, un(e) élève, un parent ou le public en général. »

• « Un membre actif aura automatiquement le droit d’être représenté par un membre de la FEESO en cas de difficulté professionnelle avec un employeur ou un autre organisme extérieur; la représentation pourra aussi inclure une assistance judiciaire. Cependant, celle-ci est sous réserve de l’approbation de l’Exécutif provincial. »

En général, les responsabilités des membres d’OSSTF/FEESO sont exposées dans notre serment :

« Je m’engage solennellement à promouvoir et à faire avancer la cause de l’éducation. Je m’efforcerai d’atteindre et de maintenir le plus haut degré de compétence professionnelle et je maintiendrai toujours l’honneur, la dignité et les normes d’éthique de ma profession. J’engage ma loyauté et mon appui à la Fédération des enseignantes-enseignants des écoles secondaires de l’Ontario et je me conformerai aux statuts et règlements, aux politiques et aux pratiques établies pour la gouverne de ses membres. »

Ces responsabilités et devoirs sont décrits davantage dans des Règlements et politiques spécifiques :

• Le Règlement 2.4.2 décrit les « Devoirs des membres envers les autres membres ».

• Le Règlement 2.4.3 décrit les « Devoirs des membres envers la FEESO ».

• Le Règlement 2.4.4 décrit les « Devoirs des membres durant les négociations/sanctions ».

• La Politique interne 1 décrit « l’Éthique professionnelle » que doivent appliquer les membres d’OSSTF/FEESO.

Quelle différence y aurait-il dans mon travail sans le syndicat?

La vidéo School Zone explore avec humour les avantages et la protection qu’OSSTF/FEESO a obtenus pour les membres par la mobilisation et la négociation collective. Elle met en évidence des enjeux comme le salaire et les avantages sociaux, les droits de pension de retraite, les conditions de travail, la privatisation, le perfectionnement professionnel et la santé et sécurité.  

On parle beaucoup, surtout aux États-Unis, de privatiser l’éducation publique et de se débarrasser des syndicats. Les arguments présentés se composent de vagues « mythes » non justifiables concernant les syndicats; notre réaction à ces « mythes » se trouve dans le document intitulé « Information sur les mythes syndicaux – Démystifié » qui répertorie dix des idées fausses les plus courantes que les gens propagent sur les syndicats en éducation et qui permet de mieux comprendre ce que symbolise OSSTF/FEESO, en tant que syndicat, ce qu’il accomplit pour ses membres et comment il défend le système d’éducation publique.

Quels sont les services que fournit OSSTF/FEESO aux membres?

Going Strong: The Right Choice For You est une vidéo de courte durée d’OSSTF/FEESO qui met en lumière les services du syndicat et ce qu’il symbolise. Elle fournit un excellent aperçu de notre Fédération.

OSSTF/FEESO est un syndicat reconnu en vertu de la Loi sur les relations de travail et en tant que tel, l’un de ses principaux rôles est de négocier et de maintenir les conventions collectives de ses membres. Des conventions collectives distinctes sont négociées entre chacune des 151 unités de négociation et leur employeur et sont propres à chaque unité de négociation.

La section appelée Nos valeurs rentre un peu plus dans les détails de nos principes liés à l’éducation publique, à l’équité et à la justice sociale. Nos principes motivent toutes les activités que nous faisons pour les membres et pour la société.

L’éducation publique est le pilier de l’avenir de l’Ontario. Notre vision de l’éducation financée à même les deniers publics dans cette province, appelée Éducation publique – Investir dans l’Ontario, a pour but de fournir aux élèves la capacité et la confiance requises afin de relever les nouveaux défis du 21e siècle.

Les trois principaux services d’OSSTF/FEESO, Services de protection; Services éducatifs et Communications/action politique, sont décrits dans la section du site Web Ce que nous faisons.

Nous offrons également des ateliers de perfectionnement professionnel substantiels et un large éventail de ressources afin d’aider nos membres à être mieux informés sur leur travail, leur syndicat, leurs droits et leur protection.

OSSTF/FEESO a constitué une collection remarquable de livres et de ressources écrits et revus par des éducateurs; ces documents sont disponibles à la vente pour les membres ainsi que les non-membres. Pour de plus amples renseignements, cliquez sur le titre du livre ou de la ressource ci-dessous de même que pour accéder à un bon de commande. (En plus des ressources de cette page, de nombreuses autres ressources, disponibles gratuitement, se trouvent dans le Centre de documentation.) Le Magasin de la Fédération propose des vêtements et d’autres équipements et cadeaux disponibles à l’achat.

Où puis-je trouver des renseignements sur les négociations de convention?

La Section réservée aux membres est uniquement accessible aux membres actifs d’OSSTF/FEESO. Les comptes d’utilisateurs sont créés par le personnel du Bureau provincial. Votre identifiant de membre d’OSSTF/FEESO se trouve sur votre carte de membre d’OSSTF/FEESO et contient seulement des chiffres. Votre mot de passe est inclus avec votre autocollant de renouvellement annuel qui parvient dans les boîtes aux lettres des membres au cours des deux premières semaines de décembre. Si vous êtes nouvellement membre et que vous n’avez pas reçu une lettre contenant les détails nécessaires, communiquez avec le Service de la base de données des membres, au Bureau provincial, en vue de confirmer votre admissibilité à accéder à ce site.

Cette section du site Web vous fournira directement une quantité de renseignements confidentiels qui ne sont pas destinés au public et que vous pouvez consulter à loisir. Si vous avez des questions sur les renseignements affichés ici, vous devriez d’abord communiquer avec la présidence de votre unité de négociation pour obtenir des éclaircissements.

Quels sont les autres avantages à être membre d’OSSTF/FEESO?

En tant que membre d’OSSTF/FEESO, vous avez facilement accès à toute une gamme de services. Ils couvrent les besoins professionnels et de protection de tous les membres. De plus, les membres peuvent choisir d’accéder à de nombreux autres services et produits.

Depuis plus de 30 ans, Educators Financial Group dessert exclusivement les membres du milieu de l’éducation et leur famille immédiate. Leurs services comprennent entre autres :

• Planification – Planification financière professionnelle et conseils indépendants gratuits

• Placement – Solides stratégies d’investissement, axées sur le rendement, dont REER et REEE

• Prêt – Taux hypothécaires peu élevés et options flexibles pour le personnel en éducation

Educators Financial Group, créé en 1975 par OSSTF/FEESO, s’engage à desservir uniquement les membres actifs et retraités du milieu de l’éducation (ainsi que leur famille immédiate). C’est la seule entreprise canadienne à offrir ce service exclusif.

Le Régime d’assurance des enseignantes et des enseignants de l’Ontario (RAEO/OTIP) fournit des services d’assurances et d’avantages sociaux collectifs aux employés et aux retraités du milieu de l’éducation. Les produits d’assurance individuelle comprennent l’assurance automobile, habitation, vie et l’assurance véhicules récréatifs. Les régimes d’assurance collective peuvent inclure : invalidité de longue durée, vie, vie pour personnes à charge, maladie complémentaire et dentaire.

OTIP/RAEO est un organisme à but non lucratif détenu et dirigé conjointement par un conseil d’administration représentant quatre affiliés de l’enseignement en Ontario (AEFO, FEEO, OECTA et FEESO).

De plus, chaque année, le RAEO attribue douze bourses d’études de 1 500 $ à six étudiantes et six étudiants de tout l’Ontario. En remplissant un bulletin de participation en ligne, les membres assurés par le RAEO peuvent soumettre la candidature d’une personne de leur famille (p. ex., enfant, enfant du conjoint, petit-fils ou petite-fille, neveu ou nièce, sœur, conjoint, etc.) pour courir la chance de gagner l’une des bourses.

Edvantage offre d’excellents rabais et récompenses aux employés en éducation et à leur famille, par le biais de partenariats avec des détaillants et des entreprises dans tout l’Ontario. OTIP/RAEO gère Edvantage pour votre association d’enseignants. Grâce au soutien continu de nos partenaires, Edvantage est en mesure d’offrir des rabais avantageux, des offres spéciales et des concours, à vous, nos précieux membres. Votre carte de membre d’OSSTF/FEESO sert à deux fins : la carte de votre association et votre carte de membre Edvantage.

Teachers Life offre de l’assurance vie au milieu de l’enseignement. Cette société d’assurances a été fondée comme groupe d’éducateurs compatissants des écoles secondaires qui croyaient aux bienfaits de l’entraide. Toujours fidèle à ses racines 75 ans plus tard, Teachers Life est devenue l’organisation d’assurances sans but lucratif la plus novatrice, la plus respectée et la plus performante au Canada.

Où puis-je trouver des renseignements liés à la retraite?

OSSTF/FEESO représente des membres qui cotisent au Régime de retraite des employés municipaux de l’Ontario (OMERS), au Régime de retraite des enseignantes et des enseignants de l’Ontario (RREO/OTPP) et à des régimes de retraite des universités pour le personnel de soutien des universités d’Algoma, Brock, Laurier et d’Ottawa. Cliquez ici pour des liens vers les divers régimes de retraite.

OSSTF/FEESO emploie une agente des régimes de retraite et du personnel de soutien additionnel pour offrir des conseils et de l’aide aux membres en ce qui a trait à leurs régimes de retraite.

Les ateliers sur OMERS et le RRE de la Fédération se concentrent tout spécialement sur la planification des rentes et la retraite. Que les membres aient 15 ans ou six mois avant de prendre leur retraite, ils découvriront des stratégies financières pleines de bon sens et des idées de planification à la retraite.

Les ateliers durent environ deux heures et demie et permettent aux membres de poser des questions durant la présentation ou de parler en tête-à-tête avec l’agente des pensions et (ou) le présentateur. L’horaire des ateliers, par district, est affiché sur le site Web au début de l’année scolaire.

Quels sont les médias sociaux qu’OSSTF/FEESO utilise pour communiquer avec les membres?

OSSTF/FEESO a une présence établie dans les médias sociaux. Nous vous encourageons à explorer les diverses vidéos disponibles sur la chaîne YouTube d’OSSTF/FEESO. (Assurez-vous de regarder en particulier The School Zone!) Nous avons également créé une page Facebook d’OSSTF/FEESO; si vous avez un compte Facebook, rendez-nous visite et n’hésitez pas à nous « aimer ». Suivez-nous sur Twitter.