Resource Centre

Educators’ Resources · Still Not Laughing

Update

 
Resource Centre

Still Not Laughing

Still Not Laughing

In 1994, OSSTF/FEESO, in collaboration with the Ontario Women’s Directorate and the Ministry of Education, initiated an examination of the prevalence and impact of sexual harassment on the students in our schools. The resulting resource, The Joke’s Over: Student to Student Sexual Harassment in Secondary Schools, was widely referenced in the education sector and the broader community. OSSTF/FEESO has continued its ground-breaking work on this issue with the release of a new set of resources:  Still Not Laughing: Challenging Sexual Harassment in Our Schools. The new material contained in Still Not Laughing furthers the discussion and deepens our understandings of how sexual harassment affects our learning communities.

Still Not Laughing – A Resource List is a bilingual annotated bibliography which serves as a reference for a wide range of resources suitable for use by educational workers, including curriculum and program ideas, interactive websites, support services, government documents, audio-visual materials and advocacy opportunities.

Still Not Laughing – A Toolkit for Action is a bilingual resource book which begins with a look at current challenges and legislation related to sexual and gender-based harassment in our schools, both as learning environments and as workplaces. Subsequent sections offer a framework for developing effective strategies aimed at changing attitudes and behaviour, as well as some ideas that can be used as a starting point for action.

Still Not Laughing: Challenging Sexual Harassment in Our Schools, a 2 hour workshop based on these resources, has also been developed to increase participants’ awareness and understanding of sexual harassment and provide them with an opportunity to develop strategies that challenge sexual violence and  harassment in their schools and workplaces. (This workshop is in the process of being translated into French.)

Related Links

Related Attachments

Contact Information

Rosemary Judd-Archer

Executive Assistant, Educational Services Department

Ontario Secondary School Teachers’ Federation

60 Mobile Drive
Toronto, ON
M4A 2P3

Phone: 416-751-8300

Fax: 416-751-7079

Toll Free: 1-800-267-7867

Centre de documentation

Ressources pour les éducateurs · On n’a toujours pas fini de rire

Update

 
Ressources

On n’a toujours pas fini de rire

En 1994, OSSTF/FEESO, en collaboration avec la Direction générale de la condition féminine de l’Ontario, a entamé un examen de la prévalence et de l’incidence du harcèlement sexuel sur les élèves dans nos écoles. La ressource qui en a résulté, On a fini de rire : Harcèlement sexuel entre élèves dans les écoles secondaires, a été abondamment citée dans le milieu de l’éducation et dans l’ensemble de la communauté. OSSTF/FEESO a poursuivi sa démarche novatrice sur ce sujet avec la publication d’une nouvelle série de ressources : On n’a toujours pas fini de rire : S’attaquer au harcèlement sexuel dans nos écoles. Le nouveau contenu de On n’a toujours pas fini de rire favorise le débat et permet de mieux comprendre les effets du harcèlement sexuel sur nos communautés d’apprentissage.

On n’a pas fini de rire – Une liste de référence est une bibliographie bilingue annotée qui sert de référence sur un éventail de ressources destinées aux travailleuses et travailleurs en éducation, notamment des idées de curriculum et de programme, des sites Web interactifs, des services de soutien, des documents gouvernementaux, du matériel audiovisuel et des occasions de revendication.

On n’a pas fini de rire – Une boîte à outils pour l’action est un livre bilingue qui commence par un regard sur les défis actuels et sur la législation concernant le harcèlement sexuel et lié au genre dans nos écoles tant comme milieux d’apprentissage que comme lieux de travail. Les sections suivantes présentent un cadre de travail pour l’élaboration de stratégies efficaces visant à changer les attitudes et les comportements ainsi que des idées qui peuvent servir de base pour les mesures à prendre.

On n’a toujours pas fini de rire : S’attaquer au harcèlement sexuel dans nos écoles, un atelier de deux heures inspiré de ces ressources, a été développé afin d’accroître la sensibilisation des participants et leur compréhension du harcèlement sexuel. Il leur donne l’occasion d’élaborer des stratégies visant à enrayer la violence et le harcèlement sexuel dans leurs écoles et lieux de travail. (Cet atelier est en voie d’être traduit en français.)

Liens connexes

Pièces jointes connexes

Coordonnées

Rosemary Judd-Archer

Adjointe exécutive, Secteur des services éducatifs

Fédération des enseignantes-enseignants des écoles secondaires de l'Ontario

60 Mobile Dr
Toronto, ON  M4A 2P3

Tél: 416-751-8300

Sans frais: 1-800-267-7867

Téléc: 416-751-7079