OSSTF/FEESO Awards of Recognition for Members

OSSTF/FEESO Provincial Member Award Winners — 2016/2017 · Jennifer MacLean Health and Safety Award 2016/2017



Jennifer MacLean Health and Safety Award 2016/2017

Susan Kirby – District 27 Limestone

This year’s Jennifer MacLean Health and Safety Award for outstanding achievement in the area of health and safety hails from District 27 Limestone.

Susan Kirby, of the teacher bargaining unit, has been active in health and safety at the bargaining unit and district level for well over 15 years. She is both a certified Workers’ Health and Safety instructor and a certified Disability Prevention instructor.

She served on the OSSTF/FEESO Provincial Health and Safety/Workplace Safety and Insurance Act Committee for 3 years where she was instrumental in providing training throughout the province and rewriting the “Guide to Workplace Safety”.

Ellie Foster, D27 PSSP bargaining unit president, stated:

“Our PSSP members owe a particular debt of gratitude to Susan for using her skills and expertise to identify an unsafe work environment and bring about a resolution which moved the Educational Services Department to a safer location.”

The HS/WSIA Committee believes that Susan Kirby of District 27 TBU exemplifies the type of leadership in Health and Safety that our Federation celebrates.

Share This Page